gallery My Labor Story

I’m a first time Mom so I don’t know anything about giving birth except of what I’ve read and what’s been told of me.  So basically, everything is new.

I started my day early. My husband and I walk about a kilometer, eat breakfast then take a nap.  Then I woke up around 11 am to pee and I’m feeling differently, same feeling like I’m having my first day of period, and just like it I have stain in my undies and so I screamed there’s a blood and my husband got panicked and my mom check it out and ask me what I’m feeling.

Well, I felt heavy and my hips feels “nangangalay” and my stomach is sometimes “naninigas” and so we decided to go to the hospital since my due date is 2 days from now.

So, we arrived late in the afternoon at the hospital, lucky it was not traffic because I’m from Cavite and my hospital is in Camp Crame in Quezon City (wonder why that far? because fortunately it’s one of the benefits of the PNP)

Upon checking of my OB, he instructed his assistant to give me the admittance slip…

OHMG this is it na!!!!

He endorsed me at the OB Section, I even asked if I can still eat, he said I cannot anymore because that’s what my OB instructed even if I said I’m hungry.

When I entered the OB Ward, I saw a pregnant women wearing her dextrose, then I ask the nurse “Lalagyan mo din ba ko nya?” she said Yes, I even ask further, “Kailangan Talaga?” the nurse said Of course! (Me panic mode) it’s my very first time.

As the time goes by, my stomach pain gets really painful.  The non-first time mom inside the ward is telling me your baby wants to go out already, because they can see her move in my stomach. They even advice me what to do, I just don’t want to listen because the pain is really real to the 10th level.  My husband just ask me to do what they’re telling me, but I still refused to, I even told him “ Ang sakit sakit, ikaw kaya!” but I can see how worried he is.

Every time my attending OB comes in to check for the baby’s vitals, I ask her can’t she do anything? because it’s really painful, she just said “Mommy normal po yan, ganyan talaga” but still I tell her “ Ang sakit sakit na eh, pwede bang CS nyo nalang ako” hahahah!!! She just replied nicely “Hindi po pwedeng dahil gusto nyo lang po” (Maybe if I were in the private hospital they will just tell me OK, lucky I’m not).

I started my labor around 6:00pm but I refuse to stay at the labor room, because I ask if my husband can accompany me, they say he cannot, but they allowed me to stay in my room until its really coming out. Around 10:00pm I decided to give it a go because she said if I feel really “pooping it’s a sign that she’s coming out.  When I was in the labor room, the Doctor instructed me that, “Pag humihilab, umire ka lang, pag nawala tigil” and so I just follow what she said, besides I don’t want to stay there longer! Alone. . . 

My attending OB is so kind and patient, she even say I’m just outside, so whenever “humihilab tyan ko”  I would scream and she hurriedly come in and check. For 15minutes thats the scene in the labor room. Hahaha!!! One nurse even said “Mommy wag masyadong scandalosa, pag nandyan na si Doc (the head Doctor) pagagalitan ka non. The last “hilab” I felt different I told the Doctor if feel pooping already, and the nurse said wait wait, they transferred me to the delivery room hurriedly. I think this is really it. . .

That moment I don’t really feel anything, except for the pain and I just want everything to be over and see my child, so when they lay me to the “delivery bed” (I don’t know what it’s called) they put my two legs apart and just said just continue what  was  instructed to you at the labor room.  A minute after I was shocked and screamed coz when I pushed my water broke, I even said Doc where are you? They just respond, and the nurse said “bakit ka sumisigaw mommy?” I’m scared that when I pushed my baby might go out and nobody is going to catch her.

I want everything done because I really want to see my baby come, and if I prolong it she might be stressed and in pain coz I feel stressed and in pain already. So, I pushed as I was instructed, the thing that I can’t really follow is to pushed without a sound.  After 30 minutes, she’s out the feeling is like everything in your tummy was taken out, just like when you poop successfully.

At around 10:40 she came, crying like a little kitten.  The doctor put her in my tummy and congratulated me, she said the baby was so red.

Honestly that time I don’t know what I feel and the Doctor said aren’t you gonna sleep, I said I’m not sleepy, then they put medicine in my dextrose, the next thing I know, they were transferring me to my room and my husband is putting me to bed. Yay!! Sweet!!! Hehehe. . .

After two hours they brought my little girl in the room and everyone in that room was filled with a smile and said she’s the baby behind the kitten sound in the nursery room.

Now I’m officially a Nanay. 

 

 

10 comments

Leave a comment